RvR & Server Types

Realm vs. Realm

There are three distinct Realms in Dark Age of Camelot - Albion, Midgard and Hibernia. Think of these three Realms as foreign countries with well defended borders and different languages.

An integral part of Dark Age of Camelot is the concept of Realms. Realms are entirely independent worlds that exist within the larger world of the game. Although there are some exceptions to this (see Server Types below), the primary principle is that each of the Realms is at war with each of the others, and that they cannot even communicate with each other. Realm vs. Realm combat (known as RvR) occurs in special level-specific battlegrounds and in the New Frontiers.

There are battlegrounds available for characters level 1 to 49. Battlegrounds are smaller RvR areas and entry into each is limited by level. The first battleground is level 1-4, the next is 5-9, the third is 10-14, and so forth, ending at level 49. The battlegrounds are a good place to learn now to use your RvR skills before venturing out into the main RvR zones in New Frontiers.

The New Frontiers are recommended for characters that have attained a fairly high level and have mastered the skills of their class. Generally, to be effective at RvR, it is good to join a group of other characters with balanced skills. There are many specific strategies for fighting in RvR, as opposed to fighting monsters found throughout the game. (Fighting monsters is known as PvE, or Player versus Environment.) There are specific goals that come with RvR. One is to gain notoriety within your own Realm. This can gain you special points called Realm Skill Points. You can use Realm Skill Points to train your character in special skills that cannot be trained in any other way.

There are also special castles, or keeps, and controlling the majority of those keeps can bring benefits to the entire Realm. Certain keeps contain magical items called Relics. If a Relic is controlled by its home realm it will be stored in a Relic keep beyond a special Mile Gate. If member of an opposing realm can steal an enemy Relic, they can then install that Relic in one of their standard keeps. If a Realm controls both their own relics and an enemy Relic of the same type, all members of that realm will gain benefits from the Relic Magic. Warfare over the Relics and various castles in the frontier areas is a primary aspect of RvR.

Server Types

There are various server types available to players of Dark Age of Camelot. These server types have different rules depending on which one you choose to play on. To help you understand them, below is a list of these server types and brief descriptions of each:

Traditional Servers

These servers run by the traditional RvR rulesets. The concept is the same: you have three realms (Albion, Hibernia, and Midgard), which are all at war with each other over keeps, land, and relics. You may roll characters on all realms, all servers. Zones on all Ywain servers are clustered, other than housing in order to provide housing lots for all players.

  • Realms are enemies.
  • No inter-Realm communication.
  • You cannot attack Realm members (other than in duels).
  • Relics affect Realm members.
The following are our traditional servers:

Ywain Cluster:


Cooperative Servers

Cooperative servers step away from the traditional ruleset, in that you may play in all three realms on these servers in a cooperative fashion. The server is completely Player vs Environment (a.k.a. "PvE") with the exception of the dueling options.
  • May not attack any player character.
  • May play cooperatively with characters from any Realm.
  • Characters may travel freely to all three realms.
  • There is no RvR, only one-on-one dueling.
The current Cooperative server is Gaheris.

Test Server

Pendragon is also known as the "Test Server."

It is where code currently in development is uploaded for public testing before it is patched to the live servers. Players who choose to make Pendragon their home will also receive customer service support; however, it should be understood that problems can, may, and will occur with patches currently undergoing testing.

More information about playing on Pendragon can be found here ►.

Login Client and Server Selection

To learn more about the Login Client and the different options of the server selection screen check this overview.