Beginner's Guide

Introduction: Starting Out in Dark Age of Camelot

Welcome to Dark Age of Camelot. You are about to enter a living world of adventure and shared experience. This guide is designed to orient you to the world of Dark Age of Camelot and to get you off to a good start.

System Requirements

If you don't have the game client yet, it's a good idea to start the installation process on the 'Play Now' and read this guide while the game is updating. this page will also help you to get a free play time if you are a new or returning player.

You may have played other games on computers or game systems. You may even have played other online games, in which case you'll find much that is familiar in Dark Age of Camelot. However, you will find specific differences, as well. We recommend that you read through this brief guide and keep it handy when you first start playing. It may answer many of your questions before you have to ask them.

Background Story of Dark Age of Camelot
It is about ten years after King Arthur's death. The forces held so long at bay by the legendary king are now pressing on the borders of Albion, the home of the Britons.

Camelot is still a thriving and vibrant capital, but it is starting to show signs of decay. The border zones of Albion are being threatened by the barbarous Norse, who live in the far north icy wastelands of Midgard, and by the magical Celts, who live on the western island of Hibernia.The Norse and Celts, long held back by the strong Briton kingdom, are sensing that their time is finally nigh - perhaps this is the time to press home their dream of expanding into, and finally crushing, Arthur's hated Realm.

The Britons are the human inhabitants of Albion, the kingdom that Arthur founded and kept intact for his reign. Now, however, it is starting to decline - especially in the border areas, where constant incursion by enemy raiding parties is becoming common. The Britons are comprised of the common Briton, the tall intelligent Avalonian, the brawny Highlander, and the dexterous Saracen.

Briton magic comes from the study of the arts of elemental magic - the essence of all that is around us. The center of this study is the city of Avalon, which boasts the strongest and most powerful mage guilds.

The Highlanders were driven from their territories north of Camelot by the incessant warfare with the other Realms. They are larger than the other Britons, usually are strong and hardy. The Avalonians are from the mystical city of Avalon, which is the seat of magical study in Albion. Hence, they are of a more magical bent than the other Briton inhabitants. The Saracens are the descendents of the dusky-colored people from the far southern deserts whose ancestors signed on to Arthur's crusade. They are generally quicker and more dexterous than their Briton counterparts.

The island of Hibernia is inhabited by the nature-worshipping human Celts. At one time in the island's history, the Celts warred with the primal magic using 'Otherworld' elvish creatures that were said to live 'under the hill' in fantastical cities. In light of the mutual threat of armed invasion by Norse or Britons, the Otherworld creatures have joined forces with the Celts to form a powerful combination of magic, nature worship, and arms.

The Hibernians are made of the Human Celts, who demonstrate a profound affinity with nature. The Elves are beautiful tall, thin, humanoids who specialize in all forms of magical spell casting, and have the ability to bear arms. The almost-giant Firbolg combine nature worship with practical magic and arms skills. The small, quick Lurikeen show an aptitude for spell-casting and dexterous fighting.

Hibernian magic comes from two sources. Their most powerful spells come from the Otherworld Elvish mastery of primal Arcane magic. Other casters also have a variety of nature-based druidic spells. In general, the Hibernians are the most magically-inclined of all the Realms - almost all of their classes support some sort of spell-casting.

The Norse hail from the northern kingdom of Midgard, comprising the modern-day region of Scandinavia. They are generally stocky in build, strong, and not quite as civilized as inhabitants of the other Realms. However, when it comes to fighting, the Norse are equaled by none. Traditionally, the races of Midgard do not cooperate fully, but in this time of conquest and danger, they have put aside their differences to fight their common enemies. The Norse races are the standard human Viking, the large strong Troll, the short hardy Dwarf, and the small crafty Kobold.

Norse magic comes almost exclusively from their gods - from Odin, Thor, and Hel. Trolls and Kobolds can also choose to become the wild Shaman, a primitive mental-based magic user.
The Vikings are the humans of Midgard, and as such are tall, hale, hardy, but generally not as civilized as humans from other Realms. The Trolls are large fearsomely strong creatures who make great fighters. The Dwarves are stocky and wise, making good priests and fighters. The Kobolds are smaller than dwarves, but much quicker and more dexterous.

Sensing that the time of conflict is nearing, each of the Realms has gathered magical Relics from their past - the strongest items and talisman from Albion, from Midgard, and from Hibernia have been assembled and placed into strongly defended keeps. Magical spells have been cast around these Relics, ensuring that each Realm will receive power from their Relics, provided they are safely ensconced in their Keep.

Each Realm knows that as long as their Realms are safely kept, they will be strong. However, it is also known that the first order of battle in the coming war is to raid the other Realms' keeps and loot their Relics - for a Realm with no Relics is a weak Realm indeed.

About MMORPG's
Massive multiplayer online role playing games (sometimes known as MMORPGs) are online games that involve thousands of simultaneous players in what are called "persistent worlds."

Persistent worlds are worlds that exist twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week (24/7) and continue to change constantly. Whether you are online or not, these worlds are dynamically active.

Your way of interacting in these worlds is through a character you create, sometimes known as an "avatar." This character will have certain characteristics, depending on the kind of character you choose. In Dark Age of Camelot, you can choose any of 18 races, and for each race, you'll have several choices of types of characters you can play; for example fighters, magic users, healers and others. More on that later...

Among the basic concepts of play in a persistent world MMORPG are gaining experience and "leveling" to improve your character, as well as communicating with other players and joining groups of various kinds. As in all role-playing games, the character you create will begin with only a few skills. As that character gains experience, it will also improve special abilities unique to its class as well as basic qualities such as strength, quickness, dexterity and so forth.

Below you'll find links to useful articles written to get you started in the world of Dark Age of Camelot:
Server Types
Choosing Realm & Race
Character Creation
Class Types
Class Types By Realm
Groups and Guilds
Starting Out in the World
Leveling and Specializing
Death and Resurrection
Lands and Expansions
Quests Tasks
(Including the Taskmaster Program)
Items and Inventory
Combat System
Gaining Experience
Fighting in Groups
Tips for Certain Archetypes
Information about the Interface
Interface Tricks
In-Game Options
Help System
Customer Service
Standard & Advanced Mounts
Epic Mounts